Brahms – Hungarian Dance No. 1 – Part 1/9

Hungarian Dances

(1) Hungarian Dance No. 1 (Orchestration: Brahms)
(2) Hungarian Dance No. 3 (Brahms)
(3) Hungarian Dance No. 5 (Schmeling)
(4) Hungarian Dance No. 10 (Brahms)
(5) Hungarian Dance No. 16 (Parlow)
(6) Hungarian Dance No. 18 (Dvořák)
(7) Hungarian Dance No. 19 (Dvořák)
(8) Hungarian Dance No. 20 (Dvořák)
(9) Hungarian Dance No. 21 (Dvořák)

Composer: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Orchestration: Antonín Dvořák (1841-1904), Martin Schmeling & Albert Parlow (1822-1888)
Orchestra: North German Radio Symphony Orchestra

Hungarian Dances are a set of 21 lively dance tunes based mostly on Hungarian themes. Only numbers 11, 14 and 16 are entirely original compositions. They vary from about a minute to four minutes in length. They are among Brahms’ most popular works, and were certainly the most profitable for him. Each dance has been arranged for a wide variety of instruments and ensembles. Brahms originally wrote the version for piano four-hands and later arranged the first 10 dances for solo piano. He wrote orchestral arrangements for No. 1, No. 3 and No. 10. Other composers, including Antonín Dvořák, orchestrated the other dances.

(Visited 10 times, 1 visits today)

You might be interested in


Your email address will not be published.